Too busy NOT to pray

Why is it SO hard for me to get around to praying, some days? I have a different take on being busy, I suppose. Schedule too full. Running from activity to activity. Even if they are necessary, work projects, or worthwhile, ministry-oriented activities, still. I am just too dad-blame busy.

Too busy? Too busy doing what?

I get the big hint, God. You want me to slow down, to get off the roller coaster (or is it merry-go-round?) of life, and take time for You. With You.

I’ve already mentioned that I cycle through different practices of prayer and meditation, using various books by various authors, at times. One author I particularly love is Tilden Edwards. His spiritual formation book Living in the Presence is a compilation of different ways of prayer and meditation. I certainly needed a good deal of time when I was praying through that book. The prayer practices he used stretched me, sometimes pushed me into places that were unfamiliar. But it also slowed me down. All of which is good and needed, in my life, at any time.

God, like I said, I get the hint! Help me slow down. Ease me into a calmer state of mind. I need more serenity, and I need it now! Seriously, God, banish busy-ness, worry and frenetic activity from my life. Help me to reach for more of You. And thanks for revealing Yourself to me and to anyone who asks, God. Amen.

3 responses to “Too busy NOT to pray

  1. I don’t usually spend much more than five minutes at a time praying, but perhaps that has made it easier to make a habit of doing it daily. It helps to maintain some mindfulness that I am not totally in control. It is an opportunity to focus on what I am grateful for and where help is needed. If there is difficulty staying focused on this breif process, it serves as a warning that heightened awareness may be needed in the day ahead.

    • Thanks for the good words, Thomas. Like you, I find that regular prayer helps me to focus on the next right thing, and to ask God for help when/where it’s needed. I just need to keep praying. And be consistent.

    • Tom, I’m reflecting again on my blog post, and your response. You and I both know that we are not in control. God is! (“There is a God, and I’m not Him.”)

      You might want to check out my latest post. It might be helpful. Thanks for the insight!

Leave a Reply

