Today is Tuesday – Dry Bones and Prayer?

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Tuesday, April 7, 2015

dry bones Ezekiel 37 word cloud

Today is Tuesday – Dry Bones and Prayer?

A rainy day. Raw, gray, sad day. What an appropriate reading for such a day, I thought. Ezekiel 37:1-14, the valley of the dry bones. As I read in the liturgical daily prayer book, I felt dry, even a bit spiritually parched. Odd way to feel, immediately after Easter. After the big events of Holy Week, capped by such a wonderful Easter celebration.

But, maybe, not so odd.

There is often some let-down, after such a celebration. So much hype, such anticipation. And then, the nosedive in the aftermath. (The weather outside might have had something to do with my gray, negative attitude, too.)

“Hear the word of the Lord!” Ezekiel was told to preach to the bones. As a preacher myself, I suspect that Ezekiel did his very best, especially since the Lord ordered him to! I know I try my best to preach, too. I don’t always hit the mark, but I try. I try my best. (You know I do, Lord! )

I feel akin to Ezekiel. Preaching to a little congregation, doing the best I can, with the Lord’s help. Whatever God wants me to do, I strive to do my best.

What about you? In your case, it might not be preaching. However, God may very well be calling you to do something. Be the best YOU you can be. Do the best job at whatever your hand finds to do. Just like Ezekiel.

Dear Lord, gracious God, give us a spirit of willingness. A spirit of thoughtfulness. A spirit of humility. And some honesty and openness wouldn’t hurt, either! Thanks for providing all of us with help, whenever we cry out to You like Ezekiel did. Thanks for Your presence with me, every day. Help me as I prepare for the various services and bible studies, week by week. And provide for our needs. Please. In the risen Jesus’ name we pray, Amen.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

(Check out #40acts; doing Lent generously at www.40acts.org.uk )

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And read #40acts sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er .

(also published at www.matterofprayer.net

Leave a Reply

