How Deep is My Faith?

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Wednesday, July 8, 2015

FAITH bible

How Deep is My Faith?

I’ve known that Hebrews 11 is the “Faith chapter” of the New Testament for quite some time. Yes, I know that many devout believers practically swear by this chapter. Oh, it makes So-and-so so firm in his faith. Or, So-and-so depends on the stories she hears from Chapter 11, and tries to make her behavior like several of the saints found there.

When Hebrews 11:1-3 got put into psalm format, when our two authors turned this into a New Testament psalm similar to those in the book Praying the New Testament as Psalms, I found a whole new appreciation for these verses. “God, You are faithful – faithful forever./You cannot deny Yourself.” [1]

Here’s another familiar passage to me. Until it was turned into a Psalm, that is. That gave me a new twist on things. The verse: “May Your word abide in me forever;/believing in the one whom You sent.” [2] This modern-day retelling of these few verses come from John 5:37-38.

A fresh way to express the sentiment and feelings. Faith expresses trust in a person’s relationship with God. Do I have faith? Do I have trust? Do I believe in Jesus, the one whom God sent?

Dear God, You are faithful, indeed. Not only to me, but to everyone. That faithfulness is totally in Your character. Thanks, God.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er .

[1] Praying the New Testament as Psalms, Desmond O’Donnell, OMI, and Maureen Mohen, RSM, (United States of America: ACTA Publications, 2002.), 70.

[2].Ibid.

Leave a Reply

