Prayer for Friends, Part Two

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Tuesday, August 18, 2015

praying hands stained glass

Prayer for Friends, Part Two

It helps when friends pray for each other. I know. I’ve felt the prayers when I really needed them.

I’ve been praying for a dear friend who is in the middle of a yucky situation. Lo and behold, the Psalm chosen for Tuesday night on the www.dailyoffice.org website is Psalm 91. And, the first two verses of the Psalm are as follows:

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High, * abides under the shadow of the Almighty.
He shall say to the LORD, “You are my refuge and my stronghold, * my God in whom I put my trust.””

These two verses are enough to give me courage, and encouragement. “Dwells in the shelter?” That means putting down roots. Not just camping for a night or two. “Most High:” God = the Highest thing, spatially speaking.[1] “Abides.” Again, staying for awhile! “Under the shadow of the Almighty:” I can’t help but think of the rough terrain of much of the Holy Land. Shade would certainly be desired, especially in the heat of the day. Thus, the Almighty would be able to provide a tremendous amount of shade.

I hope God is listening. (Are You, God?)

Dear Lord, thank You for these wonderful promises written by the Psalmist in Psalm 91. I pray that all of them may quickly come true for my dear friend, and my friend’s family! While I’m at it, I pray these wonderful promises for me and my family, too. Lord, You are a mighty God. You are our Refuge and Stronghold. (The Psalm says so!) And, You are totally trustworthy. Thank You for hearkening to all of our prayers. Amen, and amen!

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Visit the website http://dailyoffice.org/ to find out more about Morning and Evening Prayer!

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

[1] http://www.biblestudytools.com/dictionaries/bakers-evangelical-dictionary/god-names-of.html

Leave a Reply

