Prayer for Those Who Are Exhausted

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Thursday, August 20, 2015

praying hands 2

Prayer for Those Who Are Exhausted

I thank God for my job. Really, I do. I am doing what I love, working for people I care for, dearly. I know many people in the United States do not like their jobs, and I feel badly for them. I know. I was in that situation, and I spent several years in that purgatory. Now, thank God, it’s over, and I have the joy of doing something I really, truly enjoy.

I thought of that because of the Scripture passage included in Evening Prayer, tonight. “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28) All those who labor, and are heavy-laden? I learned that, when trying to understand a verse of Scripture more deeply, verbs are important. Verbs tell me a huge amount.

In the case of the first verb, “labor,” we are looking at an active verb. My goodness, just reading this verse I get exhausted. “Are heavy-laden?” This is a passive participle. One of the commentaries I looked at said “weighed down as with a heavy burden.” [1] Again, as I read this verse, I begin to feel the weight of the labor, the heaviness of the toil and busyness.

Some people I know, some people I’m acquainted with are among those who just work a job for a paycheck. Then there are some people I know who find a great deal of encouragement and support from their jobs. And yet, each of us has that God-shaped hole deep inside.

Jesus says He is going to give us rest. Again, Meyer’s Commentary says “to secure the true peace of your souls.” I want that true peace. I no longer want to function as semi-Christian, semi-pacifist. Semi-anything.

I’m grateful for the website www.dailyoffice.org tonight, too. The prayers for Morning and Evening faithfully appear each day. I’d like to lift up Vicar Josh and his friends who have gone to a retreat center in Indiana, as of this afternoon. Josh and a number of other friends will be on retreat for the weekend. God’s blessings and refreshment to all!

Dear Lord, gracious God, I pray for all those who indeed are heavy laden. Lighten their burdens. Assist them as they labor—work. Lord, please give me peace. Give all of us Your serenity. Let us rest in You. In Jesus’ powerful, mighty, and loving name I pray. Amen.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Visit the website http://dailyoffice.org/ to find out more about Morning and Evening Prayer!

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

[1] Meyer’s New Testament Commentary, http://biblehub.com/commentaries/matthew/11-28.htm

Leave a Reply

