Praying the Lord’s Prayer Again

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Friday, August 28, 2015

Our Father who art in heaven - colorful

Praying the Lord’s Prayer Again

I prayed the prayer our Lord taught us, this evening. I suspect you know which one. The prayer that starts, “Our Father, Who art in heaven.” This prayer was one of the oldest I ever learned. I’m not exactly sure, but my grandmother may have taught it to me.

Things get fuzzy when I try to remember back that far. Not that I have lots of negative memories, but they’re just not the clearest.

My grandmother, my mom’s mom, lived with us for a few years when I was small. The thing was, my grandmother had started having the mini-strokes. Transitory Ischemic Attacks. She would periodically have these, and her mind would slowly—slowly get eaten away.

I still have vivid images I can recall. Mental snapshots of my grandmother. I can see her sitting in front of the black-and-white television in the living room, watching the Catholic Mass early on Sunday mornings. She’d have her Rosary clasped in her hands. She loved going to Mass, and received such encouragement and comfort from the prayers.

As can I. (The encouragement and comfort from God, part.)

Let’s pray. Dear Lord, gracious God, thank You for giving us such a marvelous prayer. Thank You for this gift. I kind-of know how difficult it is for many people, but I thank You that You come alongside of each one. I can remember when my Grammy was particularly anxious, and the words of this prayer calmed her right down. And, this is repeated so often, all over the world. You care for each of us deeply. Thanks so much, Lord!

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Visit the website http://dailyoffice.org/ to find out more about Morning and Evening Prayer!

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

Leave a Reply

