Pierce the Cloud of My Unknowing

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Saturday, October 3, 2015

birds, moonrise, water - credit bellofcompassion.org

Pierce the Cloud of My Unknowing

Such an arresting image. I am still struggling to get my head around that image. God’s love, piercing the cloud of my unknowing.

This piece of the Lord’s Prayer has the word “Affirmation” as its focus. The prayer I chose for today from The Oxford Book of Prayer deals with “Who art in heaven (Prayer 14, page 56) [1]

Another thing I’m wondering about. “Affirmation?” Am I supposed to affirm You, Lord? Do You even need affirmation? Or, does the affirmation concern me? Who is the end-user of this affirmation, anyway?

George Appleton wrote this particular prayer. I find myself pausing at regular points of this page, and I sit and allow the words to wash over me.

“I cannot grasp You/explain You/describe You.“ Appleton’s not-knowing seems to match mine in all the deep places. Why are You so distant? Yet, I stand in awe by all of the things expressed here.

Dear Lord, I focus on “Who are Thou?” And, I get a very partial answer. But, that’s okay. How on earth am I ever going to get a complete image of You in my mind, anyway. You, Lord, are infinite. I am not. You, Lord, are ready to listen. Help me to be equally ready to hear Your voice, and to heed Your words. Thank You, Lord.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

[1] The Oxford Book of Prayer, edited by George Appleton. (New York: Oxford University Press, reissued 2009), 56-57.

Leave a Reply

