Pray for the Shining of Thy Face

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Sunday, October 4, 2015

winter-landscape-forest with sun wallpaper-

Pray for the Shining of Thy Face

How refreshing and alive are the words of many expressions of Gaelic Christianity! (Translated into English, of course.) Today’s prayer is about Affirmation. The prayer I chose for today from The Oxford Book of Prayer again deals with “Who art in heaven (Prayer 152, page 58) [1] This is a Gaelic prayer translated by Alistair MacLean.

A quote from this short prayer: “… the dark happenings of my lot hide the shining of my face from me. Yet, if I may hold Thy hand in the darkness, it is enough.” Yes, the prayer is deep and meaningful. I feel it deeply, especially recently.

I have had some run-ins with sin lately. (And, who hasn’t?) However, I was especially feeling my sinfulness during the past few days. Because the happenings of my lot—my life—are sometimes dark and sin-filled, I can’t always tell that I stray from God’s path for me. But, I do. Dear Lord, how I wish I could walk with You more nearly! Love You more dearly!

Yes, it’s all about my yearning to walk with my God.

(I’m taking just a moment to talk a little about my view of God. Between ten and twelve years ago, I discovered I had new difficulty with calling God “my Heavenly Father.” I struggled with my feelings for some time. I even didn’t want to pray the Lord’s Prayer, for months on end. However, I have pretty much come to terms with that difficulty by now.)

Dear God, my Heavenly Father, thank You for coming alongside of me. Thank You for being present with me, even through the darkness. I know it doesn’t matter to You if we are in darkness (since both night and day are the same to You), but often, it matters to me very much. I get scared and uncertain. Thank You for holding my hand. And, yes. It is enough.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

[1] The Oxford Book of Prayer, edited by George Appleton. (New York: Oxford University Press, reissued 2009), 58.

Leave a Reply

