On the Right Track, with God

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Be in the Moment credit - the High Calling blog

Be in the Moment
credit – the High Calling blog

On the Right Track, with God

“Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there.” – Will Rogers. [1]

Ever have the feeling that if you stand (or sit) still, you’ll get run over? That is exactly what Will Rogers says here. That is the way life often treats me. And, I need to be careful lest I get trampled. Or, even worse, run over by a speeding locomotive racing through life.

That’s just dealing with life in normal situations. But what about people in recovery? People who are acclimating to life without drugs and alcohol, life in recovery, face extra challenges. Even higher hurdles, sometimes.

Life in recovery? Dealing with life on life’s terms. Yes, the world has opened up! It’s marvelous, and scary, a wonderful adventure, and a frightening prospect. Sometimes, all at once. But, in recovery, you and I have the opportunity to better ourselves. To serve others. To go new places and try new things. One day at a time, and one step at a time.

The second chance those in recovery have been given? A wonderful opportunity. I know people in recovery who have run triathlons, swum long distances, finished graduate degrees, climbed mountains. They never could have done any of those wonderful things if they had not been given that second chance. The chance recovery offers.

Am I busy in life? You bet! I strive to be the best Elizabeth I can be. I don’t need to be any of my three sisters, or anyone else—I need to be me. The best me I can be. And, my Higher Power will help me to stay on the right track. God willing, I can live life to the fullest, one day at a time.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

[1] Keep It Simple: Daily Meditations for Twelve-Step Beginnings and Renewal. (Hazelden Meditation Series) (San Francisco: Harper & Row Publishers, 1989), November 10 reading.

Leave a Reply

