God’s Message to Our Heart

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Friday, December 18, 2015

direct line to heaven

God’s Message to Our Hearts

Poor self-esteem? Guilty as charged. Seriously, I used to have a low sense of self-esteem. It’s better now.

But, many people are in this sad and sorry boat. Not feeling good about themselves. Thinking, “Oh, well. What’s the use? I’m no good at this life thing, anyway.”

One small wrinkle in that sad story? God doesn’t work that way. Jesus came to earth especially to let me know that I am God’s beloved child. (And, so are you! Each of us is!)

As Henri Nouwen mentions in today’s Advent reading, “The mystery of this spiritual truth is that you were loved before you were born, and you will be loved after you die . . . Your dwelling in God’s heart is a dwelling from eternity to eternity” [1]

I know God loves me. Not only intellectually, but I know it in my heart, too. Thank You, God.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

(also published at www.matterofprayer.net

[1] Advent and Christmas: Wisdom from Henri J. M. Nouwen (Linguori, Missouri: Redemptorist Pastoral Publications, 2004), 40.

Leave a Reply

