PEACE is Love, and No Animosity!

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Monday, March 7, 2016

IMG_0193

PEACE is Love, and No Animosity!

Last week, I was invited to the senior group at St. Martha’s Catholic Church in Morton Grove. I spoke to them about PEACE. I gave a small presentation about the lack of PEACE and what we can do about it. I included several ideas about how to lessen the animosity between people and between groups of people.

I also gave them some background on my Pursuing PEACE Project, and asked if any of the seniors would be willing to give me their personal definition of PEACE.

One of the officers of the senior group was eager to give me her point of view on PEACE. Joann Brelin’s personal definition: PEACE is LOVE! Plus, a lack of animosity.

This was a two-part definition, for Joann. The first part is important to her. (Peace equals LOVE.) And, the second part is just as important. (Peace is a lack of animosity!)

As Joann explained, “If we have love in our hearts, that is all that is necessary. (On the positive side.) Plus, lack of animosity is also important. If you are able to listen to people, really listen to what they say, animosity will melt away.”

I appreciate Joann’s definition, which shows two distinct parts: the positive and the negative. What PEACE is, and what it is not.

Dear Lord, gracious God, thank You for such a thoughtful definition. Looking at several sides of a difficulty or a challenge is truly a gift. Dear God, help me to be more that way: more thoughtful and more reflective. In Jesus’ name we all pray, amen.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

Leave a Reply

