PEACE = NO Hatred. PEACE = Loving.

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Thursday, March 17, 2016

PEACE = NO Hatred. PEACE = Loving.

Another day to present two young people from St. Viator’s High School in Arlington Heights. Another day to see what kinds of amazing thoughts these high schoolers have.

Today, I noticed similar negatives in both of the personal definitions of PEACE: NO hating. And, positively in both, being loving. Let’s see what else our two young people have to say.

Morgan’s definition: “PEACE is no violence or hatred towards anyone or anything. Also, spreading love.”

IMG_0221

Morgan wrote that definition, and then drew back and looked at it. Pondering what she wrote. When I asked her what she was thinking, she said, “I feel stopping fighting will make for more peace, if we all think of everyone as equal. Then, spreading love will naturally happen.”

Haley’s definition: “PEACE is hope, no hatred, love, serenity, and security.”

IMG_0223

As she wrote that, I thought to myself, “Pretty comprehensive.” I then turned to her and wanted to know more about that definition. She said, “Peace is calming and security. Like, when we feel secure with God and with the world. It’s definitely hopeful!”

When I consider both of these personal definitions, yes, each of them has some negative component. However, both definitions have more on the “up side” to say. Much more about love, serenity and hope.

PEACE—as far as both of these young people are concerned, the world is a positive, optimistic, hopeful place. And, that is a wonderful attitude to have towards life.

Dear Lord, thank You for such a positive outlook. Help me to keep such a hopeful (and hope-filled) state of mind. Lead me to encourage others to have the similar point of view. Amen.

(I am having continuing problems with the orientation of the photos of the definitions … Morgan, Haley, I would like to apologize again. Apparently, there is something the matter with the meta data written into the code for the photos. I am only an advanced beginner, with this social media stuff. I am sorry, again! I’ll keep looking for an answer.)

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

Leave a Reply

