PEACE: Presence in Heart and Mind

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Saturday, April16, 2016

peace, swirls

PEACE: Presence in Heart and Mind

Today, I have the final definition of PEACE from the Muslim Community Center in Morton Grove. I appreciated the opportunity to visit the MCC some days ago.

The president of the Sunday school reminded the gathered crowd that I was there to ask the simple question “What is PEACE, to you?”

Dilnaz’s personal definition: “PEACE is when there is a presence in the heart and mind.”

I asked her for further explanation. She said, “You realize peace when you give yourself to a Higher Being. And, you don’t have to have total control.”

Dilnaz is so right. We all can realize peace in our own lives by opening ourselves to God (or, the Higher Power, if some choose to identify the Holy or Divine One, in such a way.)

I would like to express my thankfulness at the kind invitation I received from Dilnaz, so that I could have the chance to gather interesting, diverse personal definitions of PEACE. (Thanks, Dilnaz!)

Gracious, merciful God, thank You for the opportunity to go to the Muslim Community Center and get to know them a little better. Help me—help all of us strive to continue the conversation of PEACE. In Your holy name we pray, amen.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza  And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

(Thanks to everyone at the Muslim Community Center in Morton Grove, for making this week of personal definitions of PEACE possible.)

Leave a Reply

