PEACE? Contentment and Kindness.

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Wednesday, April 20, 2016

IMG_0345.JPG

PEACE? Contentment and Kindness.

As I reflect upon my discussions with the young people at St. Viator’s High School in Arlington Heights, I am grateful I had the opportunity to engage with anyone who came up to the table I had set up on one side of the large lunchroom.

I’ll be featuring two personal definitions of PEACE today; a great chance to talk with young people and get their viewpoints on PEACE.

First, a personal definition from Maya: “PEACE is being content in your mind and soul.”

I asked her to explain further. She said, “Peace is not only being content, but your mind is calm. It’s also your soul. Content with WHO you are!” She was quite definite about being content in having an awareness of herself. (I suspect she had an awareness of her Self, too, although I did not have a chance to ask her further questions.)

Second, Grace’s personal definition: “PEACE is unification with kindness.”

IMG_0347

Intrigued, I asked her for more. She told me, “Peace is being together without violence. People can have nicer forms of approach.”

Grace, I suspect if more people are kinder to each other, there will automatically be a reduction in violence. I’m not absolutely certain, but I suspect so.

I am so glad I had the opportunity to talk with both of these young people. Such innovative thinking. Wonderful opportunity to find out what they have on their minds. May God’s blessings rest on both of these young people.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza  And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

Leave a Reply

