You Shall Call His Name Jesus

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Friday, September 18, 2015

JESUS you shall call Him

You Shall Call His Name Jesus

For today, the Name of God is taken from the Gospel of Matthew (among other places). My word—Name of God for today is Jesus.

Matthew 1 has Joseph, Mary’s betrothed husband, finding out about Mary’s pregnancy. Joseph wishes to be as considerate as possible, and decides to break off the engagement quietly. An angel intervenes.

I wonder how speechless I would be if an angel came to me in a dream? And not only came to me, but gave me specific instructions and encouragement? I mean, specific to my precise life decisions and future life course? I cannot even imagine how speechless, amazed, awe-struck, even groveling in the earth I would be.

Yet, that is the exact situation Joseph found himself in.

As reported by Matthew, “An angel of the Lord appeared to him in a dream and said, ‘Joseph son of David, do not be afraid to take Mary home as your wife, because what is conceived in her is from the Holy Spirit. 21 She will give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus, because he will save his people from their sins.’”

So. That was the Name of God I chose to use today for Centering Prayer. I had a fruitful time of prayer! (Much more fruitful than yesterday, for example.) Jesus. Joshua. Yeshua. Jesus saves. Salvation. All of that and more were going through my head. I felt much more connected than scattered as I prayed.

Thank You, Lord Jesus for coming into the world, being a Mediator between me and God, and providing me with salvation. What a marvelous thing You did. Thank You, thank You.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

Leave a Reply

