Mary and a “Yes” to God’s Request

Matterofprayer: A Year of Everyday Prayers – Monday, December 7, 2015

The Annunciation -  Angel Gabriel appearing to Mary, a vintage Christmas greeting illustration (circa 1910)

The Annunciation –
Angel Gabriel appearing to Mary, a vintage Christmas greeting illustration (circa 1910)

Mary and a “Yes” to God’s Request

From time to time, I hear about people wondering how Mary could have said “yes” to God. Some people truly think about this, and think deeply. Sorry. I don’t think I ever did.

Similarly, from time to time, I understand people also wonder how Mary and Joseph interacted with each other, as well as the people along the way. When these curious people bring such a thought to my attention.

I wonder more about logistics. And about having a child too far ahead of time. How were the other townspeople affected? Was Mary ostracized? Shunned? Or, were there a few good friends who staying true to Mary, even though she was pregnant out of wedlock?

Even though I have never wondered about that particular wrinkle of the Advent narrative, I can still appreciate the “yes!” that Mary communicated to God. “Yes” to pregnancy. And as Henry Nouwen says, “yes” to the idea of me—of us—claiming that space of childhood. Becoming as children before God. Accepting God’s invitation into relationship as God’s beloved child.

I have no problem with that. I know I am like a toddler to God. God is my loving, caring Heavenly Parent. I guess that is a big enough wonderment for me.

Dear Lord, gracious Heavenly Parent, prepare my heart to receive the Lord Jesus once more as we remember His birth in Bethlehem, in this Advent time of preparation and waiting.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Why not visit my sister blogs, “the best of” A Year of Being Kind.   @chaplaineliza And, read my sermons from Pastor, Preacher Pray-er

(also published at www.matterofprayer.net

2 responses to “Mary and a “Yes” to God’s Request

  1. Pingback: Solstice, Saturnalia and Christmas-stress | From guestwriters

Leave a comment